Jacksonville Jaguars

Jacksonville Jaguars - Eyes Half Open

Team Colors
Black, Gold, Teal, White

Official Website

Things are not going well for Jacksonville this season.  We’re talking tied for last (with the New York Giants).  I’m suspecting they’re staying terrible so they can pick up high positions in the NFL draft next year.  Even if they get Johnny Football or some other superstar rookie, I’m not expecting breakout performances for at least 3 years.  It’s not just a lack of talent, it’s a lack of motivated coaches and front office staff.  I always thought the eccentric owner, billionaire Shahid Khan, should be throwing more money at the problem.  Wouldn’t be hilarious?  I can imagine Shahid twirling his moustache like an old timey cartoon villain while getting monster free agents and rookies.   Stupid contract limits and payment cap ceilings.

afc-jaja1 afc-jaja3 Jacksonville Jaguares - Eye Shadow Play

Colors Used
Black – Black from Nyx Love in Florence Eyeshadow Palette in Ciao Bella
Gold – L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Imperial Gold (limited edition)
Teal – Combination.  Liner in Too Faced Perfect Eyes Eyeliner in Perfect Peacock.  Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Deep End (limited edition)
White Eyeliner – Tara Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperliner in Crystal Gun

The Jaguars have a lot of color going on.  The color scheme is very much a victim of the 90s teal fad when they first appeared in 1995.  Nike did its best to balance out the colors, but things can still get ugly.  Things got particularly nasty during the summer of 2013 when their new helmet was revealed.  Matte black to shiny gold but their mascot icon is still shiny?  Hmn, looks like Nike’s B team was on this design decision.  Much to my own surprise it made for a great reference when I decided to do an eye shadow look with the Jaguars colors.

Black eye shadow is unforgiving if you try to layer bright colors on top of it.  Everything gets muddy and gross after a while.  So I reversed my normal direction (inner corner then outer to outer corner to inner) to keep the gold eye shadow bright.  On the other hand, if you’re scared of bright eye shadow, you should try putting a sheer base layer of black.  It will do this neat duochrome effect if it’s a fancy night out.  It’s a nifty tip I got from Karen at Makeup and Beauty Blog.

Putting a bright eye shadow or eyeliner on your lower eyelids is not only so high fashion runway, it’s also seen on a lot of runways this year.  I have terrible hand-eye coordination when I get to using liner.  Small strokes or dashes always work for me.  It’s still a leap of faith when I do a cat eye.  If a full reverse cat eye I’m rocking freaks you out, you can always just line your lower lid.  My fall/winter dry skin has made its appearance on my lower lids.  You can really see it on my right eye. I decided to fight of the worst of it with lots of moisturizer.  While my eyes look less gross, my makeup had a shelf life of about 5 minutes on my skin.  Looks like I need to load up on way more moisturizer.

Leave a Reply

