Pittsburgh Steelers

Pittsburgh Steelers Eyes Half Open

Team Colors
Black, Gold, White

Official Website

Steeler’s head coach Mike Tomlin, besides being an all around good coach, is famous for looking eerily like Omar Epps.  So much so that in the 2009 House, M.D. episode (“Ignorance is Bliss”) House acknowledged it:

Why wouldn't I be? Got all my starters back, plus a couple of first-class free agents. I feel like Mike Tomlin. [Looks at Foreman, played by Omar Epps.] Probably not as much as you do, but you get the idea.

Pittsburgh Steelers Eyes Closed

Pittsburgh Steelers Eyes Open Pittsburgh Steelers Eye Shadow Play

Makeup Used
Yellow – Sephora Collection Colorful Eyeshadow in Banana Split
Black – Black Market from Urban Decay Vice Eyeshadow Palette (limited edition)
Blue Eyeliner – Prestige Cosmetics Total Intensity Against All Odds Liquid Ink Eyeliner in All Nighter
White – Matt Malloy from theBalm’s Meet Matt(e) Nude Palette
Red – Kryolan Blusher in 080

Initially I thought I was going to settle with black and yellow (black and yellow black and yellow) but something was missing.  God, I looked like a bee.  So I looked at the uniform again, specifically the logo.  That touch of white, red, and navy blue are so small in scale to the uniform.  But the difference between a Steeler’s reference and a bee are that slight.

Some colors just blend in with your skin tone.  For me that’s the color yellow and certain shades of green.  I shouldn’t be surprised since I’m Asian.  I had to pack in the yellow a lot to get the yellow as vibrant as you see in the pictures.  We’re talking 10-15 swipes compared to the normal 3-5.  The yellow I used for this shoot is pigmented but it literally looked like I had tinted moisturizer on my eyes.  Moral of this story is to not be discouraged by colors blending into your skin.

Use red eye shadow as an eyeliner with the help of a liner brush or a fine eye shadow brush.  The intensity and exact red hue that suits your face can depend on skin color.  Fortunately you have a better chance of finding red makeup during Halloween.  In a pinch you can use a tiny bit of red lipstick.  Just make sure you use the side of the pillar, not the part you actually put your lips on.

Leave a Reply

