Washington Redskins

nfc-ware2
Team Colors

Burgundy
Gold
White

Official Website

I don’t like the name Redskins.  There, I said it.  If you’re going to name yourself after Native Americans, at least have them be historical tribes affiliated with the area you play.  Redskins is so generalized and has a negative connotation.  There should be Whiteskins, Blackskins, Yellowskins, Brownskins and Mixedraceskins so that everyone is offended.  Oh look I got sidetracked.  Sorry about that.

Redskins the team?  Things should have gone well for the Redskins.  Awesome young QB, crazy good coach, improvements on both sides of the ball.  Yet nothing worked out.  I freak out a bit when I watch them play on TV.  One because Redskins’ quarterback Robert Griffin IIII plays with rookie mistakes and other clear growing pains that happen when you go from college to pro ball.  (Also all of the Subway sandwiches.)  The other because former head coach Mike Shanahan (I dubbed him Shan-anigens) is so sunburned his skin blends in with the dark red of his team jacket/polo/uniform.  We’ll see how Jay Gruden looks next season as the new Redskins head coach.  At the very least, not as sunburned.

nfc-ware1 nfc-ware3 nfc-wareplay

Colors Used
Burgundy – Inglot Cosmetics Freedom System Eyeshadow in 450 Pearl
Gold – Sephora Collection Colorful Eyeshadow in Banana Split
White Eyeliner – Tara Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperliner in Crystal Gun
White – Matt Malloy from theBalm’s Meet Matt(e) Nude Palette
Black – Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Zero

If you thought I was going to do a play based on the Hogettes you got another thing coming.  Though I will file it away for consideration when I do throwback or hardcore fans colors.

I was tempted to take this look to another level by gluing small feathers near the outer corners of my eye.  Then I imagined the feathers coming off after a while so I nixed that.  I drew the feathers in freehand with a white eye pencil, then went over it with white and yellow.  I also tried outlining the feathers like I see on the Redskins’ icon, but it was too faint.  That’s why I went over it again with black eyeliner.  I like the depth the extra color adds to the feathers.  Thanks to the yellow the feathers blend into my skin.  You are likely to get better results than I do.

Leave a Reply

