Throwback – Saint Louis (né Los Angeles) Rams

throwback-slra2
Team Colors

Note: Names not official
Royal Blue
Gold

Growing up, I was jealous of southern California for having three football teams.  During the 80s and part of the 90s, there were two teams in Los Angeles (the Rams and the Raiders) and one in San Diego (the Chargers).  As a kid I wondered why an area needed three teams.  I only had the 49ers as a kid.  When the Rams and the Raiders moved away, I felt bad for LA.  Later, when I realized they have two excellent college football programs (UCLA and USC), I didn’t feel as bad.  Still, there should be a pro team in the LA area to fill that void.

throwback-slra1 throwback-slra3 throwback-slraplay

Colors Used
Note: Names not official
Blue – Combination.  Disney Jasmine Storylook Palette by Sephora in Lapis (limited edition)
Gold – Sephora Collection Colorful Eyeshadow in Banana Split

The Nike uniform color scheme was inherited from the previous Reebok ones.  I decided to go to the Rams uniforms of the late 1990s since there was a dramatic color difference.  A basic color wheel shows blue and yellow on opposite ends.  Makes for visually interesting graphics, but it is incredibly easy to mess up and make the color green.  Especially with the spiral horns on the Rams helmets.  There was no way I was going to pass on using those horns.  I did the horns first, then used my finer brushes to pat down the blue around them.

I used Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk to make drawing out the spiral horns easier.  Yellow never looks good when I just put it on my skin and I wanted the color to really pop, like it does on the Rams’ throwback uniforms.  After I was satisfied with the spirals that’s when I would pat the yellow eye shadow.  Don’t brush the yellow on yet or you’ll risk turning a bright yellow into a paler, butter yellow.  If you can’t find a good white eye pencil, you can get away with a nude-colored eye pencil that’s a few shades lighter than your natural skin tone.  There is a trade off to using a white base.  As you can tell with the blue all other colors look dull or muddy compared to the one with the white base.

Leave a Reply

